Final Fantasy 16 XVI Final Fantasy XVI

Final Fantasy 16 Is Getting Two Story DLC Expansions, PC Version Officially In Development

Announced alongside a now massive update to the main game

Over this past weekend at PAX West, we got some significant Final Fantasy 16 news as the game’s producer, Naoki Yoshida, announced via a video message at the “Voices from Valisthea” PAX West panel that the most recent entry in Square Enix’s long-running RPG franchise is getting two pieces of DLC that sounds like it will expand more on a beloved location based on fan feedback.

“We’ve seen so many opinions and reactions from our community of Final Fantasy 16 players. But one thing that came through particularly strongly was how people wanted to see more of Valisthea’s story and spend more time with her inhabitants. To accommodate, the development team has started work on two installments of paid downloadable content.” Naoki said in a video message at the English voice actor panel.

That was probably not even the mic drop of the weekend for PC gamers, as Naoki confirmed that Final Fantasy 16 is getting a PC version and is currently in development. No release date or window was revealed, although Naoki promised that more will be revealed before the end of the year; is it possible for the Game Awards to be revealed?

This panel also revealed that Final Fantasy XVI got a free new update; it added a new weapon-skin feature so players can combine the stats and looks of their favourite weapons into one. That’s not all, as the update will also add new outfits for Clive, Jill, Torgal, Ambrosia, and Joshua.

Fans wanting more from the world of Valisthea can check out Theatrhythm Final Bar Line when a new expansion, part of Season Pass Volume 3, launches on November 1, 2023, and includes 11 tracks from Final Fantasy 16.

The full list of songs coming to Theatrhythm Final Bar Line are:

  • ”Ascension”
  • ”Away”
  • ”Control”
  • ”Find the Flame”
  • ”Hide, Hideaway”
  • ”Logos”
  • ”My Star”
  • ”No Risk, No Reward”
  • ”The Riddle”
  • ”Titan Lost”
  • ”To Sail Forbidden Seas”

Final Fantasy 16 first launched exclusively on PS5 on June 22nd.